Friday Travel Dreaming – 12/6/13

Our box of books, fresh off the press!

Our box of books, fresh off the press!

Happy Friday everyone! We’ve had exciting news recently with the release of our Updated 2nd Edition of the book. It’s now available in print, kindle and pdf e-book versions. And right now, you can get your own personalized, autographed print book right from us! Just click here to order an autographed copy via Paypal, and you’ll have a chance to write any particular personalization that you’d like us to inscribe. Makes a great holiday present – give the gift of travel!

And in some of our other favorite travel sightings of the week…

The Cheapest Places in the World to Live

Panama; photo by Shelley Seale

Here is the 2014 report that details the world’s least expensive places to live – and not only that, but they are great places to consider as a cheap travel destination even if you’re not planning to become an expat. It’s broken up into areas of the world, such as Europe, Latin America, Asia, etc.

And while you’re at it, you can read Shelley’s story on The Best Latin American Spots for North American Expats at Travel+Escape – including the report’s number one destination, Panama!

The Freedom of Travel vs. The Paralysis of Stuff

One of our favorite sites, BootsNAll Travel, ran this story about how stuff can become an anchor keeping you from traveling – in fact, it can even become a sort of prison. Sometimes the more stuff we own, the more it owns us. Writer Jennifer Miller got rid of a whole life full of stuff to travel – she says:

I loved my house. I loved everything in it. I loved my beautiful property, surrounded by state forest that went on forever. I loved the comforts that a decade of hard work had afforded us.

But there is something I love more. You see, for me, the ability to say, “Yes!” to the serendipities the universe sends my way is more important than having lovely things around me.

At the end of the day, investing in memories and experiences is more important to us than investing in things, and so it was with an open hand that we let go of our “stuff” and turned our faces to the world.

Absolutely. Completely. Love.

Travel Hacking: How We the Broke Can Travel

This couple uses a method to travel the world that we’ve perfected and described how to do in our book: travel hacking for free flights and hotel stays!

Giveaways and Contests:

Peter Shankman is sending 25 people home for the holidays. Enter to be one of them!

The Professional Hobo is Giving Away 1 Million Club Carlson Points. Want Some?

Win a Bloomingdale’s Opulence & Escape Vacation in Wales

Win a Free Dude Ranch Vacation for TWO

Win a ski trip to Montana

Enter to win a 10-day Alaska Land+Sea Journey

Win a Free Trip to Peru and Machu Picchu

Great Travel Deals Found this Week:

Best of Morocco, 15 days, from $1028/person

St. Thomas all-inclusive with bay view room and air from $699

6 nights in Madrid and Lisbon, air, hotel, taxes and breakfasts included, from $1279

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."
This entry was posted in Friday Travel Dreaming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

