Friday Travel Dreaming – 8/16/13

“Travel is never a matter of money, but of courage.”
— Paulo Coehlo

Pura vida from Costa Rica!

This past weekend, we made our way from Panama into Costa Rica, via bus. Beautiful ride, between two beautiful countries. First stop was a few nights at Alma del Pacifico, a groovy little 20-room resort with a colorful, laid-back vibe on a great, very low trafficked beach on the Pacific.

Nature AirYesterday, we flew up to Tamarindo in Northwest Costa Rica, to visit two of our best friends — Kathleen and Steve – who recently moved from Austin to this lovely Central American country. We flew on the world’s first carbon neutral airline, NatureAir. In 2004, Nature Air became the first airline to compensate for 100% of its carbon emissions from flight operations, to support reforestation and conservation programs to help combat the impacts of deforestation in Costa Rica. I dig it.

Here in Tamarindo, we are staying with our friends in their two bedroom condo, just steps from the beach and everything to do in the town. We’re having a great time, and this is a perfect place to chill and wind down toward the end of our 7-week Latin American adventure. We head back home to Austin next week.

Hanging out with our friends Kathleen and Steve at a beach restaurant in Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Hanging out with our friends Kathleen and Steve at a beach restaurant in Tamarindo, Costa Rica

As we do every Friday, here are a few things to get your weekend travel dreaming started!

Thoughts on Life 2 Years After Quitting My Job to Travel

Our travel blogger friend Katie Aune shares her thoughts, worries and rewards of quitting her job to travel around the world:

“I may not know what direction I am headed, but I am increasingly confident that I am moving in the right direction. While last year at this time I was terrified and questioning whether it was all worth it, I now know 100% that it was.”

Sherry Ott

Travel vs. Cultural Exchange: The Volunteer Chronicles followed Sherry Ott as she spent the winter of 2011 volunteering in the Middle East with GeoVisions. Reflecting back on that experience, she realizes that it was one of the best opportunities to really learn and understand another culture – a style she now prefers over constantly being on the move.

Stuff We Don’t Need: 5 Reasons Why It Doesn’t Lead to Happiness – If one of your worries about long-term travel is what to do with all your “stuff,” this read is for you.

Mexico Getaway Giveaway – Win a trip to Mexico city from the Topanga Film Institute.

Enter for Your Chance to Win a Fabulous Trip to San Juan, Puerto Rico from Southwest Vacations.

You could win a trip to Grand Cayman.

Win a 5-star Hong Kong getaway, including roundtrip air, accommodations and tours!

Win a 4-star Labor Day spa escape in Arizona.

Sunset in Tamarindo, by Keith Hajovsky

Sunset in Tamarindo, by Keith Hajovsky

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."
This entry was posted in Friday Travel Dreaming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

