Friday Travel Dreaming – 7/5/13

Greetings from the Galapagos Islands, where Keith and I are currently traveling.

995415_10151450922412257_1373503051_n

This weekend’s edition of travel dreaming includes:

Real-life use of How to Travel for Free resources and tips

Last week, we posted a great deal for a 9 day China trip from Friendly Planet Travel. Nancy Marcisz jumped on it, booking the trip for herself and her daughter. Nancy wrote:

Thank you How To Travel for Free for this great recommendation. Working with them has been great. Someone always answers the phone when we call and I feel very confident they know what to expect. We’ve already received our luggage tags and trip info.

Fellow travel writer Jill Gleeson also used our tips recently for dealing with flight problems in a way that will get you the maximum compensation – free travel! Jill wrote:

I just wrote the most kickass complaint letter to United EVER! Now, thanks to Shelley Seale‘s tips, I expect some lovely compensation for, you know, United almost leaving me an oily smear spread for a mile over the Gulf of Mex on that first attempted flight to Lima. And for the second attempt never even leaving the ground. And for subsequently standing in line for two hours waiting for United’s rep to get me a hotel.

We also would like to mention a great tip for booking airfare – if you can’t get it for free – that gives you a huge risk advantage. Next time you book any flight on any airline, anywhere in the world, book it on Expedia. If you oopsie and have to cancel or start over you have until midnight the following day to do so – with NO CHARGE.

And a couple of great travel contests and giveaways:

Win a 3 night getaway for four to Florida, with air, courtesy of Uncle Matt’s Organic juices.

Love Tennis? Enter for a chance to win a trip for two to London to attend Wimbledon 2014. The prize includes round trip air for two, five nights lodging and access to Wimbledon.

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."
This entry was posted in Friday Travel Dreaming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

