Share Your Travel Story!

David Nagy, Creator of WeGetThere

Today’s post is about a fabulous concept and website we recently connected with: WeGetThere.com. It’s a crowdfunding site for travel – similar to kickstarter, this new site (still in start-up stage) is aimed at helping travelers raise funds for their journeys.

WeGetThere.com is building a (crowd) funding platform around a community of travellers, explorers and adventurers.

Basically, people will be able to raise money for their meaningful trip from their family, friends, the community and even companies, in return the supporters will get groovy rewards.

And if you’ve ever wanted a place to share your own travel stories, the WeGetThere.com team is publishing a collaborative travel anthology – and they are inviting YOU to contribute!

what can 111 people do together?

What can 111 people do together?

Did you ever think about it?

We truly believe that great things happen when people with the same interests and beliefs gather together.

That’s why we said to play with this idea of a collaborative book and see how it goes.

We are ready to make great things happen. How about you?

Do you want to…

Share your travel experiences with the world?

Become the author of a real (printed, but also digital) travel book?

Inspire and help others have amazing experiences, much like yours?

Then get your “pen and paper”! Get involved NOW…

We are looking for 111 people to contribute with a short inspirational, funny and personal travel story to create the first travel book written by a community: Travel means freedom.

To be a part of it, you just write your amazing travel story in about 1000 words, that’s like 2 pages.

AND follow 3 simple steps. IT’S SUPER EASY! Click here to do it!

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."
This entry was posted in Fundraising, Money Tips, Travel Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Share Your Travel Story!

  1. DK says:

    I have traveled all over the world but after my experience touring Morocco with Zebra Adventures- Morocco has moved to one of my top must see destinations! I researched many tour companies before choosing Zebra Adventures and feel so thankful and lucky that I chose them. I chose this company because of the wonderful service and almost immediate responses that Youssef provided me every time I sent him a question- day or night he was available within 15 minutes with a response. I was very impressed from my first communication with the company. When my tour started in Fez I spent a few hours with Lahcen who was a great guide and taught me a lot. Then I met Hamid who was my guide/driver for the next 4 days and he was fantastic! He was so much fun , and very knowledgeable about the culture and history of Morocco. He also spoke excellent English and the Berber language which helped me to meet local nomadic people which was the most amazing part of my tour. I really got to see the “real Morocco.” I visited nomad families who lived in the desert and also a cave. My only regret is that I didn’t have more time to explore Morocco. I spent 4 days on my own 2 in Fez and 2 in Marrakech but by far the best part of my trip was my 4 day 3 night tour with Hamid. I wish he had been with me for my entire trip because my experience on the days that he was with me were so much better than the time I spent alone. My tour went from Fez to Marrakech. I spent one night in Yasmina Hotel which was right at the edge of the desert and one night in a luxury desert camp that had comfortable beds and a washroom in the middle of the desert! I took a camel ride at sunset to the desert camp and out again at sunrise. It was amazing!! Then the 3rd night I went to Hotel Xaluca Dades which was a beautiful hotel that Zebra Adventures organized for me. Hamid really customized the tour just for me and was very flexible and fun to travel with. When I asked if we could visit a school – which was not in the plan-( I am a teacher so was very interested in this) he took me to his elementary school for a short visit. It was great! Hamid was a joy to know and travel with and after only four days, it felt like I had made a lifelong friend. The vehicle we traveled in was in great shape and very comfortable and was able to go off road to see things I could have never seen on my own. Thank you Zebra Adventures , Youssef, Hamid and Lahcen for an unforgettable experience.

    Like

  2. surfy says:

    Good stuff. Dropped by the site but found them down for maintainance I think.
    Thanks for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

