Why We Wrote This Book

We thought we would start off our blog by giving you a little background on how this book came to be.

Shelley volunteers in an orphanage in India

Keith and I have both traveled all over the world extensively, for years, on very little money – both separately, and together over the past few years we have known each other. We have utilized all sorts of methods that have allowed us to travel for free or extremely cheaply; often we travel for less than it would cost us to stay at home.

Keith relaxing in Bali, Indonesia

Through all this time and travel, over and over people have asked us how we do it.

Of course we are always willing to share, and we have – however, there is not one big secret, but a thousand little tips and resources and creative methods. Every time we would talk about the subject with friends, or discuss one particular way we had gone somewhere on next-to-nothing, they always tell us that we should have a book or website that shares our tactics with others.

So, here it is – How To Travel For Free (or pretty damn near it!) was born. We hope that you enjoy the results, and we will continue to share our tips and experiences through the pages of this blog.

Travel Well!

About Shelley Seale

I'm Shelley, a journeyer and learner of the world, freelance journalist and author, yoga chick and dog lover. I pound the keyboard from home barefoot every day, and while my boss is demanding she also occasionally lets me have the early afternoon cocktail. I think not going into an office or collecting corporate paychecks are very good ideas, though not always profitable. I have written for National Geographic, USA Today, The Guardian, Texas Monthly and CNN, among others. Neither the New York Times nor Johnny Depp have answered my letters yet. I love yoga, indie movies, wine, and books, though not necessarily in that order. I believe in karma. Mean people suck. If I could have any dream job I would like to be a superhero. I have performed a catch on the flying trapeze, boarded down a live volcano and was once robbed by a monkey in Nepal. But, I don't know how to whistle. My mantra is "travel with a purpose."
This entry was posted in Travel Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why We Wrote This Book

  1. dave says:

    cool you are helping the world out how to travel cheap as I do. I didnt think there was anybody else out there that knew secrets as I know. We can network together and share ideas. I will be pushing the limits with my reality show on how to travel cheap plus more when I am done editing it. congradualations seeing the world like I do. It is fun and what a great addiction. I am so happy to have discovered your site and blog. cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

